July 2015 Volume 12

KCOBA USA Elects new Board at 2015 AGM - NY

George B. Bell
Text Size
  • -
  • +
  • reset

The Annual General Meeting of KCOBA USA, Inc. was held on Sunday, July 12, 2015 in the Bronx, New York. The afternoon, naturally, had a little buzz because it represented the day when members got the opportunity to elect the Officers and Directors of the Association.

President “Perry” Bloomfield presided over the first section of the meeting, which saw the Fortis prayer being done by Mr. Norman Scott ensued by the reading and confirmation of the Minutes from last year’s AGM and the Minutes from the previous Board meeting. The Officers and Committee Chairmen presented their reports, and this flowed into the President’s report. President Bloomfield’s report was fairly lengthy as he skillfully guided the membership though the many events and projects that the Association was involved with throughout the year. As is customary, his report generated healthy discussions, which always reinforced the Fortis passion present in the room. After thanking his Officers, Directors, the general membership, and all who supported the Association over the year, President Bloomfield handed off the association, which allowed us to feed, drink, and socialize. Douglas Laughman of ‘Half Way Tree’ Restaurant catered a delicious meal.

Life Director, Mr. Mike Bromfield, conducted the second section of the meeting: the election. The election went smoothly and relatively swiftly as all the returning Officers, except for the Secretary, were re-elected unopposed. The outgoing Secretary, Mr. Leighton Hollar, opted not to seek re-election, and Mr. George Bell was unanimously voted in as the new Secretary. The open directorship positions were filled by two (2) returning Directors and we welcomed two (2) newly elected Directors. Congratulations to all elected Officers and Directors, and a special warm and energetic welcome to our new Directors.

A huge thank you must go out to all the members who valued the occasion and came out to participate in the election process. The membership voted for continuation, which symbolizes a strong belief in the Administration and the work that is being done for our beloved, Kingston College. Kudos to President Bloomfield and the team. However, the end of the election denotes the beginning of a new year, which undoubtedly is decorated with old and new challenges. Accordingly, we have to double our efforts and continue to work.

To the Fortis family near and far, there are a number of exciting things happening at our institution, and there are many more things needed to be done. We need all hands on board to continue to fuel this momentum. Hence, join us or the local KCOBA chapter nearest to you. Get off the sidelines and come help us make a difference. Fortis!!!

Current Project: 

KC Library & Technology Capital Campaign

This campaign is designed to elevate the teaching and learning environment of Kingston College. It will upgrade the Libraries and Technology Resource Centers of Kingston College, which involves the completion of the Douglas Forrest Building with much needed additional classrooms. Contact us for further details and/or DONATE and tell a friend. 

Our upcoming event: 

Alpha, St Hugh's & KC Boat Cruise, Ocean 6; Sunday, August 16, 5:30 pm aboard Skyline Princess, 1 Worlds Fair Marina, Flushing, NY 11368

Here are the (2015 - 2016/17) Officers and Board of Directors: 

Rainford 'Perry' Bloomfield ‘88 


Bobby Dixon ‘72

1st Vice President 

Everton Howell ‘85

2nd Vice President 

Alton Brown ‘87


George Bell ‘85


Courtnay Anderson ‘78

Director (2014 - 2016) 

Aston Archer ‘77

Director (2014 - 2016) 

Greg Arscott ‘76

Director (2014 - 2016) 

Donald C. Davison ‘63

Director (2014 - 2016) 

Merrick Foster ‘88

Director (2014 - 2016) 

Dwight Green ‘91

Director (2014 - 2016) 

Tyrone Harris ’91 (Newly elected)

Director (2015 - 2017) 

Leighton Hollar ‘71

Director (2015 - 2017) 

Mark McTaggart ‘91 (Newly elected)

Director (2015 - 2017) 

O'Neal Reid ‘84  

Director (2014 - 2016) 

Norman Scott ‘57 

Director (2015 - 2017) 

Wilton Williams ‘80

Director (2014 - 2016) 


Authored by George B. Bell (Class of '85)

Top of Page