December 2020 Volume 16

KCOBA (Toronto) elects new board of directors

Lance Seymour
Text Size
  • -
  • +
  • reset

On Friday, November 6th, 2020 for the first time in the 47 years of the existence of KCOBA (Toronto), the Annual General Meeting (AGM) of the organization was held as a virtual event.

Outgoing President, Clive Barriffe presented a consolidated report covering the period May 2018 to April 2020 highlighting the accomplishment of the chapter for the last two fiscal years, as an AGM was not held in 2019. Items of note included:

  • Shipment of 2,000 dental kits to the school.
  • Shipment of 100 laptops to the school.

· Cash contributions to the school, totalling CAD $24,600 (approximately JMD $2.7 million).

· An additional contribution of CAD $11,500 (approximately JMD $1.29 million) was sent subsequent to April 2020, specifically to assist with mitigating the impact of COVID-19 on the operations of the school and the continued education of the students.

· Remembering fallen chapter members Fabian Prince, Monty O’Sullivan, Everard Hoo and Ashmore Bolton.

After presentation of the financial statements by the Treasurer, Oliver Lopez, the new board was duly elected comprised of the following individuals:

President: Richard Housen

Vice President : Lawrence Prendergast

Secretary : Norman Wallace

Treasurer: Errol Whittle

Asst. Secretary : Devon Saunders

Director: Clive Barriffe

Director: Peter Hart

Director: Roydell Wright

Director: Oliver Lopez

Life Directors: Alex 'Franno' Francis, James 'Ruddy' Hart, Dr. Frederick 'Buddy' McIntosh, Dale Keisz and Maurice 'Eddie' Patterson

Top of Page