January 2016 Volume 13

Two KC Old Boys Receive Musgrave Medals

Dr. Glen Laman
Text Size
  • -
  • +
  • reset

Two KC Old Boys, Harvard Professor Orlando Patterson and architect Errol Charles Alberga Jr were awarded Musgrave medals in 2015. They were among eight awardees for 2015.

Patterson received a gold medal for literature while Alberga received a silver for architecture.

Patterson is the recipient of many awards, including the National Book Award for Non-Fiction which he won in 1991 for his book on freedom; the Distinguished Contribution to Scholarship Award of the American Sociological Association; and co-winner of the Ralph Bunche Award for the best book on pluralism from the American Political Science Association.

Alberga attended KC from 1958 to1965.  He was the last president of the Jamaica Society of Architects and the first president of the Jamaican Institute of Architects.  He is also known for his work as a Rotary District Governor.

The Musgrave Award is a memorial to Sir Anthony Musgrave, governor of Jamaica from 1877-1883, who founded the Institute of Jamaica in 1879.

Top of Page